Certain Kind of Joy

A certain kind of joy, here.

 

Smeared ink staining my
fingers as the scratching
of the nib makes a lonely
kind of music. 

 

Writing-pen to paper for
the first draft-maybe
the only draft-of
something left
of some
unread,
untranslated,
barely thought out,
barely digested,
nascent memory.

 

A certain kind of joy, here.

 

The feel of music and
wasting time, eyes adjusting to
the eerie light. Fighting off the
pre-dawn delirium.

The half-light of the morning moon makes
the steam rising from the coffee thicker,
somehow.

 

A certain kind of joy, here.

 

Remembering
through the scratching
of the pen
something from
long ago
from those first twelve years
from the city
of the cracking
January
ice.

 

A sip from the cup and
my mind is braced
and the wary glimpse
is gone.

 

The pen still scratches across the page.

 

A certain kind of joy, here.

 

Longing
Desire

This entry was posted in Creativity. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Certain Kind of Joy

  1. Dee Andrews says:

    I like this poem, very much. It reminds me a lot of some of my own.

    But I have not written any poems in a very long time now. Maybe I should take it up again – writing poetry.

    Maybe it would help me in my depression, as it did once so long ago when life was young, yet so difficult.

    Am I wiser now in these things, or just older?

    Maybe only poetry can say.

    What do you think, Ray?

    Dee

  2. Vic says:

    Someone said that “Joy” is the serious bidness of heaven:):):)

    I like the poem..don’t know why really its just that the idea of you sitting at a table scratching away is a comforting picture…Hey Dee?…how come you’re depressed?

    Vic…

  3. Dee Andrews says:

    Are we in a time warp here, Ray? What happened to the Week 4 prayer? Did I just dream you had it posted all last week? I must be missing something somewhere.

    What’s the deal?!?

    Hey, Vic – I’ve been prone to depression my whole life, since I was about 15, and this one has lasted now for nearly a year. But, I tried to hide it, even from Tom, and so didn’t seek any medical help until a couple of weeks ago.

    I found out at that time that the medication I’d been on so long was not the best one I could be taking and didn’t address all of the chemical imbalances in my brain. So, now I’ve started on a new one and am waiting (somewhat impatiently) to see if it is going to work. It seems to be helping some. I can’t tell for sure yet, so will go back to the doctors in about a week and a half.

    Thanks for asking. You can pray for me about it. I need them!

    Dee

Leave a comment